Crafts & DIY Projects, Jamberry

Easy DIY Banner for Your Office

Yesterday I mentioned in my post called Organized Space Increases Your Quality of Life, that I spent a few days cleaning my spare bedroom/office/scrapbook room. Well during that process I managed to find myself ‘organizing’ by using up some of my scrapbooking stuff to make small banners for my desk. Basically I kept taking breaks to be creative and use things around my office to help declutter, which in turn made some really cute stuff! One of my favorites is this Jamberry banner I made for my desk in my office. It is adorable!


diyyyyb
diyyy

I recycled the packaging from my Jamberry headbands to use for the background. It was the perfect shiny gray color that I was looking to match with my letters that I used. It is really easy to make and the possibilities are endless.

You can use any kind of letters that you want, whichever letters that you like best. For the first project, my letters happened to be thick cardstock/cardboard style cutout because I wanted dimension and texture.

diyyyyy
Thick cardstock letters came in 52pcs for $1.50 at Michaels.

If you only have flat letters that will work too, check out this one I did with black sparkle sticker letters, still really cool looking. See I told you, you can do anything with these. Here are some other ideas: a person’s name, a team, favorite band, holiday themed, special day/date. A whole lot of things you could do.

JamForceOneDIY.jpg
Black sparkle letters on the thin headband packaging.

 

What You Need:

*Letters   –   whichever works best for your project.
*Glue   –   Elmer’s or a hot glue gun.
*Cardstock   –   or scrapbook paper, recycled cardboard, something that will hold the letters well.

I gathered my letters and laid them out how I wanted them before I started gluing them down. Sometimes just going for it and winging it works and other times it doesn’t. This wasn’t a time I was willing to test that theory, so I planned the look and layout before I started gluing.

You could always lightly trace the letters with a pencil if you want the placement to be specific and accurate. I personally made mine jagged so they didn’t sit together perfectly and looked a little more choppy.

If your letters are stiff and you’re trying for the level look like mine has, I recommend not even trying it with a glue stick. It doesn’t work great. I mean you can try it if you want to… in fact, I bet there are some of you out there reading this right now saying, I bet I can make it work with a glue stick. *Long Chuckle* If you get it to work with a glue stick, great! Mine didn’t when I tried the first time – so I used a hot glue gun. I really didn’t want to at first and that’s why I used the glue stick since I was thinking I’d conserve my last glue gun stick because I’m cheap like that. It was all good at first, I was so happy with it and then I hit it. I can’t honestly tell you how but I did and of course, popped off some of the letters.

The glue stick was good for the trial and error and being able to share a tip from the experience but using the glue stick was a waste of time.

Here is my final project. Again you can make these into anything. Since it was a Jamberry package at first and our Brand Values at Jamberry include Be Creative, I thought I’d reuse them and make my own DIY Banners that incorporate Jamberry to keep in my office.

diyyb

